Installing on 64bit Windows

t-readyroc
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 May 2009, 18:26

Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby t-readyroc » 06 May 2009, 18:38

I think there should be something in the installer or at least the readme to let the user know that QMC will not install correctly on 64bit Windows without changing the default installation directory. I tried to install the program several times, failing each time, until I changed the default installation directory from, "C:\Program Files\QuickMediaConverter" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickMediaConverter" Leaving the installer at the default value leads to a non-working installation.

I searched the forums & didn't find any other posts discussing this matter.
t-readyroc
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 May 2009, 18:26

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby t-readyroc » 06 May 2009, 18:51

Looks like I may have spoken too soon... I can't choose a target directory. Clicking the button doesn't do anything & trying to convert a video just asks me to, "Select directory where you can save yours videos. Thank."
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 06 May 2009, 19:12

Helle and welcome to our forum ...
Vista ?
what version of QMC are you trying to install ?

Thank you for your feedback we will try to help you.

Good day
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
t-readyroc
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 May 2009, 18:26

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby t-readyroc » 06 May 2009, 19:28

Yes, using Vista Enterprise 64bit. Trying to install QMC 3.6.5.

If you don't change the default installation directory, the program will finish installing, but when you try to run it, it will produce a dialog box in French that asks you if you want to download WinDev from pcsoft.fr. If you click ok to that, it produces an error, & the program closes.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 06 May 2009, 21:10

Hello again ,

Thank you for the information , may we ask you to take a capture of your screen when it asks you to download from pc soft ? Maybe they explain the issue in french .

Thank you .

You may also read this forum about win vista issues so far just in case you find something in there.

Have a nice day.
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
t-readyroc
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 May 2009, 18:26

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby t-readyroc » 06 May 2009, 21:22

I'll have to un-install it in order to do that, but I can tell you what the dialog box says to the best of my memory (I speak French).
This software requires WinDev in order to work correctly, would you like to download it from pcsoft.fr now?

That's the gist of it, anyway. I just tried to uninstall & re-install it to the incorrect location (just "Program Files"), but now it's installed ok, & will run. The target directory button still doesn't work, however.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 06 May 2009, 21:53

Hello again ,

Did you download that version on our website or somewhere else ?

just in case you may have a bug in the downloaded file here is the link to the latest ...
QMC365

Lets us know , if this does not solve your problem I will ask Gilles the dvp to investigate it further.

JL
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
t-readyroc
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 May 2009, 18:26

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby t-readyroc » 07 May 2009, 02:40

Yes, downloaded directly from your site today.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 17 May 2009, 23:25

Hello again ,

No we did not forget about your problem , the only reason is that unfortunately for the moment Gilles is in hospital for a few more days , so we will have to wait a bit to have him look at it when he comes back.

Have a nice day,
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
mellow
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 May 2009, 09:21

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby mellow » 20 May 2009, 09:30

t-readyroc , just to say you are not alone. I am experiencing exactly the same problem attempting to install on Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit. It works fine for me on XP SP2 32-bit.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 20 May 2009, 09:50

Hello to you as well,

Do you guys install QMCX on vista with full administrative rights ?
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
mellow
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 May 2009, 09:21

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby mellow » 20 May 2009, 16:19

Do you guys install QMCX on vista with full administrative rights ?

I do.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 20 May 2009, 17:09

Hello again ,

Try to use compatibility mode 32 bits and see if that works....
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
mellow
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 May 2009, 09:21

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby mellow » 21 May 2009, 13:31

Thank you for the http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm!
I ran the installer in compatibility mode for 32 bits with administrative rights.
That seems to have solved the problem, and I now have a working Quick Media converter on my Vista 64-bit machine.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 21 May 2009, 14:12

Hello ,

We are glad we could help :)

Have fun New version today or tomorrow...

Have a nice day
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Bailey
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Dec 2009, 19:31

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Bailey » 03 Dec 2009, 21:50

I have tried all of the things the earlier threads http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm for Vista -64 but I still receive an error message upon trying to run the QMC 4000: "a problem has caused the program to stop working. Windows will close the program..." My computer has Vista Home premium 64 bit processor. First I tried to install QMC to Program Files (x86) directory, and then I right clicked the QMC.exe file and changed the compatibility mode to Windows XP (Service Pack 2)--all running with Administrative privileges. None of these things have worked. It seems like a really good program and I hate to give up on it yet although I have been trying things for a couple of hours including uninstalling, reinstalling, etc. Please help if you can. Thank you.
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Installing on 64bit Windows

Postby Team Cocoon » 13 Feb 2010, 13:11

Hello and welcome

Sorry for the inconvenience I had to reorganize the anarch in the forum yesterday...

I think in your case the problem comes from hidden files ...as in this post pleaqe read it carefully as it seems it solved various Vista and Win 7 user problem .

http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1536&p=3998#p3998

Have a nice day
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm

Return to “VISTA & XP Common issues + Tips and tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests