QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Don Grant
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Mar 2011, 06:56

QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Don Grant » 16 Mar 2011, 07:35

Hi,

After having success with QMC on my laptop (Vista Home) at home I have tried to install QMC 4.5 on my work computer (XP SP3) without success. After reading through the forum I have turned off NOD32 virus software, created a folder in Applications Date, run as administrator, and other things that might have been related in the posts. What happens: the install starts, showing a small window in the middle of the screen indicating the unpacking of the file. This is followed by that window going away with a few seconds of the activity "hour glass" and then nothing. I check processes and find the computer is in idle and nothing running in the background. Where did it go? Should I try installing a previous version of QMC?

Your thoughts?
Don
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 16 Mar 2011, 20:13

Hello,

you cannot lauch QMC?
CAn you give more informations about the error mesage?

Thank you.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
Don Grant
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 Mar 2011, 06:56

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Don Grant » 16 Mar 2011, 20:52

Hi,

To be more clear. I am not able to install QMC on my XP. When I execute the install icon it does not install the program and acts as explained in my original post. I did download thai file from the Cocoon web site.

Thanks,
Don
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 17 Mar 2011, 20:02

Hello,

check your computer.
We have tried on two XP SP3 without problem.

Check the install log or application in the event viewer from Microsoft.

Have a nice day.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 20 Feb 2012, 06:56

Hello,
welcome on the forum.
Begin perhaps with the tutorials on the website for you help.
You can find the log in the help menu.

Have a nice day.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
alvinnsk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Oct 2012, 09:33

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby alvinnsk » 16 Oct 2012, 09:35

same problem here... trying to install but nothing happen... I'm using XP as well.
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 17 Oct 2012, 05:57

Hello,
you can run QMC or not ?
What is the message ?

Thanks
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
alvinnsk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Oct 2012, 09:33

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby alvinnsk » 17 Oct 2012, 07:31

Like I mentioned... same situation with the 1st message posted here...

"What happens: the install starts, showing a small window in the middle of the screen indicating the unpacking of the file. This is followed by that window going away with a few seconds of the activity "hour glass" and then nothing."

So, the answer is cannot run QMC yet and no extra message...
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 18 Oct 2012, 06:04

Hello,
what is the name-version of your antivirus ?
For example : with avast, the antivirus try to isolate the packaging of file in a virtual zone and the setup don't find the files to begin the installation.
In this case, you must disable this option.

You can also disable your antivirus before installation of QMC and try again to install. .
The packaging is tested without virus.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
alvinnsk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Oct 2012, 09:33

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby alvinnsk » 18 Oct 2012, 07:45

I'm using Avira antivirus... Even disabled, it still doesn't work.

Seems the subject is created on Mar 2011, this issue hasn't really been solved yet. :roll:
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 19 Oct 2012, 06:17

Hello,
connect you with filezilla on the following address :
Address : cocoonsoftware.com
Login : tempo
Pswd : tempo

This link is available only 48 hours !!!

copy and paste the folder in your computer in your diretory folder "program files" and try to run QMC.

Have a nice day.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon
alvinnsk
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Oct 2012, 09:33

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby alvinnsk » 22 Oct 2012, 05:41

my apologies, never login on last few days. link expired.
User avatar
Cocoon-Dev
Site Admin
Posts: 1152
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 00:54

Re: QMC 4.5 Install incomplete on XP

Postby Cocoon-Dev » 22 Oct 2012, 05:46

Hello,
it' easy so.
these links are permanent.
Here is the link where to download the version of FFmpeg compatible with the new version:
Version 32 bits
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/4505/x32/Std.rar
Version 64 bits
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/4505/x64/Std.rar

Have a niced ay.
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
Team Cocoon

Return to “VISTA & XP Common issues + Tips and tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests