Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Jeffie » 02 Jul 2008, 13:53

Hi, first of all ty for this very good converting program!

I want to convert an .asf file into a .mpg file so i can play it on my dvd player thru normal cd's...
Everything works fine for me, i converted the file into mpeg, and i can play it on my dvd player.
But now i want the maximum quality of the file. When i converted the file, the output was 476MB.
But on a cd i have a capacity of 700MB.
What advanced settings can i use to convert the file so that the output will be 650-700MB?
Is there a svcd option?

more info of the specific file i want to convert:
General
CompleteName : C:\Downloads\docu.asf
Format : Windows Media
FileSize/String : 163 MiB
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
OveralBitRate_Mode : CBR
OveralBitRate/String : 487 Kbps
OveralBitRate_Maximum/String : 508 Kbps
Movie : BEZIELING
Performer : IKON
Encoded_Date : UTC 2008-06-29 22:24:52.320
Rating : none
Agility FPS : 1103626240
Video
Format : VC-1
Format_Profile : MP@LL
CodecID : WMV3
CodecID/Info : Windows Media Video 9
CodecID/Hint : WMV3
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
BitRate_Mode : CBR
BitRate/String : 452 Kbps
Width/String : 320 pixel3
Height/String : 180 pixel3
DisplayAspectRatio/String : 16/9
FrameRate/String : 25.000 fps3
Resolution/String : 24 bit3
Bits-(Pixel*Frame) : 0.314
Audio
Format : WMA2
Format_Profile : L2
CodecID : 161
CodecID/Info : Windows Media Audio 2
CodecID_Description : Windows Media Audio 9.1 - 48 kbps, 44 kHz, stereo 1-pass CBR
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
BitRate_Mode : CBR
BitRate/String : 48.0 Kbps
Channel(s)/String : 2 channel2
SamplingRate/String : 44.1 KHz
Jeffie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 13:00

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Team Cocoon » 02 Jul 2008, 15:51

Hi ,

Welcome and thank you ,

At this stage it is not possible to do it in simple mode , you therefore would have to go to expert mode ,

I will therefore also tranfer this post to expert mode.

first get the technical information from your easy mode converted file ,

Then place the original in the active window and go to expert mode ,

reproduce all settings, (audio and video) then first try to play with birates (increase slightly ) and see if that works if it indicates an error it is not supported try another one etc etc .
It is really all a matter of trial and error , or you need to have advanced knowledge to be able to calculate what you would need .
We are also studying a possibility to include that feature (fit to burn) in easy mode in future versions.

Good luck
thanks for Keeping us informed.
Have a nice day.
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Jeffie » 04 Jul 2008, 11:31

I am amazed how fast this program can convert files, that makes it easy to experiment with it :-).

Its difficult to find the technical information about the converted file, i think you mean the file that i made using easy mode? the file info of that (finding tru vlc media player):

Stream 0
Codec: mpgv
Type: video
Stream 1
Codec: mpga
Type: Audio

i tried to experiment a bit with the expert mode making bitrate of video 48000 & frame 25000 (PAL, Europe ;-)
but it seems that i cannot find the right codec, i tried to use codec mpeg2video and audio mp2,
i used 16:9 for video because the original file is the same like that. When i converted it i had an mpeg file that my burner would not accept as an vcd file :-s.

Here is a picture of my settings:
Image
Jeffie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 13:00

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Team Cocoon » 04 Jul 2008, 12:03

Hello , thanks for the details ,

Video FPS should be 25 FPS for PAl (europe)
FPS NTSC (USA) should be 29.97

and not 25000

Just do not activate 16/9 it will normally keep original ratio if you do not select .. If you select we recommend you use x and y to set the size you wish , be carefull if you do not use good ratios it will indicate errors .


To get the info on your converted file in simple mode just place the converted file on the active window of QMC then click right on it and select "technical info in the sub menu " all that is explained in the forum rules.

We hope that helps
Have a nice day
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Jeffie » 08 Jul 2008, 12:47

ok, i've found the technical info of the output file in easy mode like you said:
as you can see in general info the file size is 465 MiB, so when i watch this file, the video is not as good as original, so i'm trying to figure out what settings i can adjust so that the file will be bigger (max 700 MiB) and has a better quality like the original asf file.
(sorry for my bad english, i'm from Belgium :-)

General
CompleteName : C:\Downlads\docu.mpg
Format : MPEG-PS
FileSize/String : 465 MiB
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
OveralBitRate/String : 1390 Kbps

Video
Format : MPEG Video
Format_Version : Version 1
Format_Settings_Matrix : Standard
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
BitRate_Mode : CBR
BitRate/String : 1070 Kbps
BitRate_Nominal/String : 1150 Kbps
Width/String : 352 pixel3
Height/String : 288 pixel2
DisplayAspectRatio/String : 1.222
FrameRate/String : 25.000 fps3
ScanType/String : Progressive
Bits-(Pixel*Frame) : 0.454

Audio
Format : MPEG Audio
Format_Version : Version 1 / Layer 2
Duration/String : 46mn 47s
BitRate_Mode : CBR
BitRate/String : 224 Kbps
Channel(s)/String : 2 channel2
SamplingRate/String : 44.1 KHz
Resolution/String : 16 bit3
Jeffie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 13:00

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Team Cocoon » 08 Jul 2008, 14:03

Bonjour parlez vous le français ? we are also from Belgium

Try to work on bitrate maybe it will improve your image, also remember that if you increase display size you will also loose in quality and more pixellisation may result from just changing the size . Miracles are not possible here :)
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Jeffie » 09 Jul 2008, 13:13

ok, i have an error when i want to convert the file in expert mode, i think it will be because i don't use the correct codecs? How do i know the codecs used in "easy mode"? or should the error be someting else? I cannot convert into vcd or svcd.

Notice that when i choose to convert into an mpeg file it works, but the mpeg file is not "vcd ready".

Image
Jeffie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 13:00

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Team Cocoon » 09 Jul 2008, 13:38

Hello

You allready asked before ....
Its difficult to find the technical information about the converted file, i think you mean the file that i made using easy mode? the file info of that (finding tru vlc media player):


and we answered you ...
To get the info on your converted file in simple mode just place the converted file on the active window of QMC then click right on it and select "technical info in the sub menu " all that is explained in the forum rules.

1) Place the easy mode converted file in the active worksheet
2) click right and select technical info in submenu.

I will ask Gilles to help you with settings if he has some time available...
I can personnally not help you as I do not use VCD and do not know the proper settings.

Have a nice day
Team Cocoon
thx for donating
http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm
User avatar
Team Cocoon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 20:01

Re: Creating a vcd, maximum capacity.

Postby Jeffie » 09 Jul 2008, 16:33

ok, thank you very much :-) I will wait for Gilles, hope he got time :-)
Jeffie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Jul 2008, 13:00


Return to Expert Users Mode

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests