How to crop 16:9 to 4:3

alekdavis

How to crop 16:9 to 4:3

Postby alekdavis » 10 Apr 2009, 05:28

I am a video novice, so forgive me if I'm asking something basic.

I have a wide screen video clip encoded in QuickTime Motion JPEG (.MOV files), which I want to convert to 4x3 resolution and a format that Windows Movie Maker would take, preferably Advanced Profile MPEG4 (.AVI file); I would like to minimize quality loss during conversion. When I use the Easy Mode and select a 4x3 video output format, the video becomes squeezed (narrow and tall). I think I need to crop the video (from the right and left sides), but I can't figure out what to enter in the Expert Mode settings. I tried various settings (like turning the Crop option on and setting B and R - I assume these indicate Bottom and Right - to 480 and 640 just to test if it would crop) but nothing seemed to work (in some cases I got errors, and when not, for some reason, I got a JPEG output file as a result).

Is this possible? I don't mind if I need to do it in several steps. Here is the relevant info about the original video:

FileSize/String: 72 Config_Text_FloatSeparator2 MiB
OverallBitRate/String: 12 Config_Text_FloatSeparator9 Mbps
Format : M-JPEG
CodecID: jpeg
BitRate_Mode/String: VBR
BitRate/String : 12 Config_Text_FloatSeparator6 Mbps
Width/String: 848 pixel3
Height/String: 480 pixel3
DisplayAspectRatio/String: 16/9
FrameRate_Mode/String: CFR
FrameRate/String: 30 Config_Text_FloatSeparator000 fps3
Bits-(Pixel*Frame): 1.034
StreamSize/String: 70 Config_Text_FloatSeparator7 MiB (98%)
Audio Format: PCM
Format_Settings_Endianness: Big
Format_Settings_Sign: Signed
CodecID: twos
BitRate_Mode/String: CBR
BitRate/String: 256 Kbps
Channel(s)/String: 1 channel1
SamplingRate/String: 16 Config_Text_FloatSeparator0 KHz
Resolution/String: 16 bit3
StreamSize/String: 1 Config_Text_FloatSeparator43 MiB (2%)

Many thanks in advance.
Team Cocoon
Site Admin

Re: How to crop 16:9 to 4:3