Page 1 of 1

v4 crash on startup

Posted: 18 Nov 2009, 10:08
by hungaristan
Hi,

(QMC v4, WinXP Prof SP2, ZoneAlarm FW)

QMC crashes a few seconds after startup. The firewall throws a message that QMS is trying to launch dwwin.exe, if I allow this, I get the meaningless generic window of "Please tell Microsoft about the problem blabla", if I deny it, the error message says:

QMC.exe - Application Error The instruction at "0x77c42a16" referenced memory at "0x00000001". The memory could not be "read". Click on OK to terminate the program Click on CANCEL to debug the program.

The error log doesn't help (at least not me), all it says is:

"Ce Id soft existe déja` enregistré"

Disabling the firewall makes no difference: it leads straight to the error window that dwwin generates.

And here comes the interesting part:
If I block the internet connection by disabling the network adapter and launch QMC, I get a non fatal error that says:

Echec de la connexion au serveur FTP "94.23.1.62" sur le port 21 avec le nom d'utilisateur cocoon. La dernie`re réponse de serveur est:

When I click OK, QMC works fine. I pasted the error.log to the bottom of this post.
I had v3.xx before, it worked fine without any errors. I uninstalled this before installing v4.

Does anyone have an idea how to fix this and use QMS while being online?

Thanks.

The Error.log when the network adapter is disabled:

Dump de l'erreur du module <WD140COM.DLL> <14.00Ej>.

- Appel WL :
Traitement de <Procedures globales de Converter.StatInst>, ligne <99>, thread <0>
Fonction <HTTPRequęte>, n° de syntaxe <1>

- Niveau : erreur non fatale (EL_ONRETURN)

- Code erreur : 100073

- Code erreur WD55 : 0

- Pas de code d'erreur systčme

- Pas de message d'erreur systčme

- Que s'est-il passé ?
Mauvaise réponse du serveur HTTP (peut-ętre la réponse a-t'elle été trop lente --timeout?). Erreur 10060

- Infos de debug :
Fonction (10,61)

- Infos attachées :
EIT_PILEWL :
Procédure globale StatInst (Procedures globales de Converter.StatInst), ligne 99
Procédure globale bTestCnxOuvAppli (Procedures globales de Converter.bTestCnxOuvAppli), ligne 26
Initialisation de Converter (), ligne 164
EIT_COMPOSANT :

EIT_DATEHEURE : 18/11/2009 09:25:44

- Pas d'identifiant dans le .err

Ce Id soft existe déjŕ enregistré
Dump de l'erreur du module <WD140COM.DLL> <14.00Ej>.

- Appel WL :
Traitement de <Procedures globales de Converter.RechMajPatch>, ligne <17>, thread <0>
Fonction <HTTPRequęte>, n° de syntaxe <1>

- Niveau : erreur non fatale (EL_ONRETURN)

- Code erreur : 100071

- Code erreur WD55 : 0

- Pas de code d'erreur systčme

- Pas de message d'erreur systčme

- Que s'est-il passé ?
L'adresse fournie ne permet pas de localiser le serveur.
Un problčme a été détecté pendant l'envoi d'informations sur la socket.

- Infos de debug :
Fonction (10,61)

- Infos attachées :
EIT_PILEWL :
Procédure globale RechMajPatch (Procedures globales de Converter.RechMajPatch), ligne 17
Initialisation de Converter (), ligne 77
EIT_COMPOSANT :

EIT_DATEHEURE : 18/11/2009 09:28:51

- Pas d'identifiant dans le .err

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 18 Nov 2009, 11:16
by Team Cocoon
Hi ,

You seem to have a similar problem as this post : http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=1203

Please send us Error.log or copy its content and paste them in the topic , you can find this file in the root directory of the Quick Media Converter . *:/program files/QuickMediaConverter/error.log
Have a nice day.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 19 Nov 2009, 00:16
by hungaristan
Team Cocoon wrote:Hi ,

You seem to have a similar problem as this post : http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=1203

Please send us Error.log or copy its content and paste them in the topic , you can find this file in the root directory of the Quick Media Converter . *:/program files/QuickMediaConverter/error.log
Have a nice day.


I actually pasted the error log into my first post. As I said it remains empty when crashing, all it says is: "Ce Id soft existe déja` enregistré"

I can only get more entries in it when I turn the computer offline. These are those non fatal errors that I pasted to the bottom section of the first post, which complain about the lack of internet connection I guess, but this has nothing to do with the crashes which occur only when the computer is online.

If you think I'd get more help if I redirect the problem to another topic, it's fine with me, I'd read it before posting mine, but it seems like a different issue to me, except that it's a crash on startup as well.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 19 Nov 2009, 02:01
by Team Cocoon
Hello ,

For this version of QMC unlike in QMC 380 Beta we have placed a security feature to avoid piracy, I will not go into details but very likely you know what I refer to. The portable version of QMC 4.0.0.0 will soon be on line .

The application you are trying to install has probably been created with a virtual directory to make it portable and it will not work anymore . You should download the original software from our website if you have not done so already :)

I suppose this answers your question.

Have a nice day

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 21 Nov 2009, 03:15
by hungaristan
Team Cocoon wrote:Hello ,

For this version of QMC unlike in QMC 380 Beta we have placed a security feature to avoid piracy, I will not go into details but very likely you know what I refer to.

No, I don't.

The application you are trying to install has probably been created with a virtual directory to make it portable and it will not work anymore .


I'm not sure what you mean by "has been created with a virtual directory". The install was downloaded in a browser that was protected by ForceField with virtualization turned on, but this has nothing to do with the execution of the downloaded install file.

If you mean that the target directory of my installation was on a network drive to make it portable, then the answer is yes. I have a shared folder on the data partition of my internal hard drive, which is mapped as network drive (the drive letter is Z). The goal is that this "Z:\" network drive can be physically moved to another location without screwing up all the software installed on it. I've been following this practice for many years, since I learnt that no matter how large my system partitions were, I always ran out of disk space.

You should download the original software from our website if you have not done so already :)


The install file was dowloaded from http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/ ... -0-0-0.zip on 18/11. I don't suppose you have anything more original than that.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 24 Nov 2009, 07:01
by Cocoon-Dev
Hello,

QMC is a stand alone application and can't shared.

If you try to share with more than one computer, it is not working.
You can open only one sessions per computer.

Have a nice day.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 25 Nov 2009, 11:17
by hungaristan
Cocoon-Dev wrote:Hello,

QMC is a stand alone application and can't shared.

If you try to share with more than one computer, it is not working.
You can open only one sessions par computer.

Have a nice day.


This has nothing to do with opening multiple sessions or running the same application from multiple computers. QMC is installed and used on a single computer and only one session is being run simultaneously. The location of the installation is a folder located on a local disk, which is mapped as a network drive on the very same computer. When an app doesn't support this, it normally doesn't allow the selection of network drives during installation.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 25 Nov 2009, 13:56
by Team Cocoon
Hello ,

With all the information we got here and there over the last few days we think we have pinpointed down on some part of the problem , in a couple of days we will make available a specific version for testing If you wish to join to check with us if it solves your problem once available let us know ..

Have a nice day.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 25 Nov 2009, 20:21
by Cocoon-Dev
Hello,
you can download this release for test purpose only.
In first :
Don't distribute this version. Thank you.
It's only for a limited numbers of users.
This version is a beta test version and is disabled after 30 days.

This version must resolve the bugs when you start QMC.
1. Permissions on Xp and Vista improved. Now the datas files are installed in the user folder for security compatibility or 7.
2. Setup install is without admin restriction under vista and don't ask each time to confirm the action.
3. Communication Improving for update and patch release.
4. On this version , regression with a error on the log file when you start the appllication as an standard user on xp and Vista or 7.

Download on the following link the test version 4.0.0.2 : http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/install-hd-4-0-0-2.zip

Thank you for supporting QMC.
Please Send me a feedback

If the feedback is ok we launch in stable version this release in 10 days.

Enjoy with this version.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 29 Nov 2009, 16:28
by Mitchmaitree
I'm getting a similar error under the same conditions (see error log below). I'm running XP SP3 on a Toshiba T7250 Intel DuoCore at 2Ghz. QMC is installed on the hard disk, and the default data source directory is also on the hard disk. I use Windows Firewall. No programs or settings have been changed or installed since yesterday.

Like the originator of this thread, QMC ran fine yesterday but today it crashes within seconds of launching. I tried to download the link you http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/paypaldonate-us.htm in the thread, but it was nonresponsive.

Here is one of the error log entries:

Dump de l'erreur du module <WD140COM.DLL> <14.00Ej>.

- Appel WL :
Traitement de <Procedures globales de Converter.RechMajPatch>, ligne <17>, thread <0>
Fonction <HTTPRequête>, n° de syntaxe <1>

- Niveau : erreur non fatale (EL_ONRETURN)

- Code erreur : 100300

- Code erreur WD55 : 0

- Pas de code d'erreur système

- Pas de message d'erreur système

- Que s'est-il passé ?
L'adresse du serveur HTTP n'est pas précisée.

- Infos de debug :
Fonction (10,61)

- Infos attachées :
EIT_PILEWL :
Procédure globale RechMajPatch (Procedures globales de Converter.RechMajPatch), ligne 17
Initialisation de Converter (), ligne 76
EIT_COMPOSANT :

EIT_DATEHEURE : 29/11/2009 08:07:23

- Pas d'identifiant dans le .err

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 30 Nov 2009, 10:58
by hungaristan
Cocoon-Dev wrote:Hello,
you can download this release for test purpose only.
In first :
Don't distribute this version. Thank you.
It's only for a limited numbers of users.
This version is a beta test version and is disabled after 30 days.

Download on the following link the test version 4.0.0.2 : http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/install-hd-4-0-0-2.zip

This version must resolve the bugs when you start QMC.
1. Permissions on Xp and Vista improved. Now the datas files are installed in the user folder for security compatibility or 7.
2. Setup install is without admin restriction under vista and don't ask each time to confirm the action.
3. Communication Improving for update and patch release.
4. On this version , regression with a error on the log file when you start the appllication as an standard user on xp and Vista or 7.

Thank you for supporting QMC.
Please Send me a feedback

If the feedback is ok we launch in stable version this release in 10 days.

Enjoy with this version.


I installed the new release, but it still gives the same error as before. Things have got actually worse, because I can't run wduninst.exe any more. It throws this error:

"Cette application est utilisee pour la déinstallation et ne peut etre executée directement. Pour désinstaller une application, utilisez le panneau de configuration 'Ajout/Suppression de programmes'".

I guess that means that QMC can only be uninstalled from the Control Panel, but QMC is not shown in the list of installed programs, so I can't even remove this version any more. Not very good...

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 30 Nov 2009, 16:32
by Team Cocoon
Hello and thanks for your

Try to look for player in the uninstall pannel , it is a bug we have to fix but player means QMC . I have already discussed this matter with Gilles and it is to be corrected in a future version.

Have a nice day

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 01 Dec 2009, 01:00
by Cocoon-Dev
Hello,
you can download this release for test purpose only.
In first :
Don't distribute this version. Thank you.
It's only for a limited numbers of users.
This version is a beta test version and is disabled after 30 days.

Download on the following link the test version 4.0.0.2 : http://www.cocoonsoftware.com/download/ ... -0-0-4.zip


Have a niced ay.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 02 Dec 2009, 02:45
by hungaristan
Team Cocoon wrote:
Try to look for player in the uninstall pannel , it is a bug we have to fix but player means QMC . I have already discussed this matter with Gilles and it is to be corrected in a future version.



There's no such entry under the Add/Remove Programs menu in the Control Panel. I have no idea what's going on here... Is there a reason for not allowing to run wduninst.exe directly? It used to work fine.

Anyway, I downloaded v4.0.0.4 and installed it over v4.0.0.2 without uninstalling it. First I thought that there's some improvement to the previous release, because QMC didn't crash right after startup. I was very happy for about two minutes, until it crashed again, just like before. This is reproducible, it happens a few minutes after every startup.

Re: v4 crash on startup

Posted: 02 Dec 2009, 06:32
by Cocoon-Dev
Hello,

you are an misfeed whith your sofware protection or pc configuration.

The program stop when i try to communicate with the server and can continue to run.

1. Delete the folder C:\Program Files\QuickMediaConverter manualy and reinstall the software.

If you are the same problem:

1.Send me the error.log file.
You can fin in the folder in c:\users\username\appdata\roaming\cocoonsoftware\qmc on Vista or c;\documents and settings\username\application data\cocoonsoftware\qmc on Xp.

2. Look in the event viewer and search in application events an error in rapport with qmc and send me also this report.


Have a nice day.